Translational Medicine

Faculty of Medicine | Lund University

Menu

Cancer

Cancer is the biggest research area at the Department of Translational Medicine; it covers several common cancers, e.g. breast cancer, malignant melanoma (skin cancer), colon cancer, prostate cancer, kidney cancer and bladder cancer.

The department’s cancer scope includes the identification and understanding of mechanisms relevant to a variety of cancers. These involve identification of biomarkers, metastatic processes, cancer immunology and proteins affecting the cell cycle. Drug candidates and treatments valid for several cancer diseases are an objective.

The research has a strong translational character and is closely linked to the clinical facilities at Skåne University Hospital in Malmö/Lund, Sweden.
The cancer researchers at the Department of Translational Medicine are also part of the Malmö Cancer Centre (MCC), the cancer node at Skåne University Hospital in Malmö, Sweden.

 

Contact details and more information

 

Maria Alvarado Kristensson - Molecular pathology

Associate professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 83 91, Maria.Alvarado-Kristensson@med.lu.se

 

Tommy Andersson - Experimental pathology

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 39 11 67, +46 70 816 48 28, Tommy.Andersson@med.lu.se

 

Anders Bjartell - Urological cancers

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 63 98, +46 70 595 26 83, Anders.Bjartell@med.lu.se

 

Anna Blom - Medical protein chemistry

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 82 33, +46 704 15 06 82, Anna.Blom@med.lu.se

 

Martin Johansson - Molecular pathology

Associate Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 73 87, Martin.Johansson@med.lu.se

 

Karin Leandersson - Cancer immunology

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 39 11 34, +46 70 296 87 83, Karin.Leandersson@med.lu.se

 

Fredrik Liedberg - Clinical and experimental urothelial carcinoma research

Associate Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 19 41, fredrik.liedberg@med.lu.se

   

Hans Lilja - Clinical chemistry

Adjunct Professor and and Head of research group
+1-212-639 69 82, mobile: +1-917-628 65 65, Hans.Lilja@med.lu.se

 

Yvonne Lundberg Giwercman - Molecular Genetic Reproductive Medicine

Associate Professor and Head of research group, +46 40 39 11 03, Yvonne.Giwercman@med.lu.se

 

Johan Malm - Clinical chemistry

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 35 36, +46 70526 70 25, Johan.Malm@med.lu.se

   

Kristian Riesbeck - Medical microbiology

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 33 84 94, +46 70 460 80 63, Kristian.Riesbeck@med.lu.se

 

Anita Sjölander - Cell pathology

Professor and Head of research group
+46 40 39 11 68, +46 70 278 66 54, Anita.Sjolander@med.lu.se

   

I laboratoriet / In laboratory Photo: Björn Martinsson
Mikroskopbild av alpha tubulin / Microscope picture of alpha tubulin
I laboratoriet / In laboratory  Photo: Björn Martinsson

Site overview